Talk/workshop on Game Development using GDevelop

Hi @4ian, @Bouh ,

A DigiTech conference is being organised next month in Indore(Madhya Pradesh, India) and I have got an invitation to speak on the topic of my preference. I have been a tech speaker since 2.5yrs. Since I am GSoD applicant and when I started using GDevelop I realised how easy it is to create games with no knowledge of programming and also I find GDevelop pretty cool because I have been using unity game engine more than 6 months. I thought this will be a great opportunity for me to contribute as GDevelop community member and to teach GDevelop to the audience of 300+ people.

I created this topic to inform you guys about the talk I will be delivering about GDevelop. I would kindly request you to provide links to videos of any previous talks about GDevelop(if any).

Thanks & Regards,
Shubhendra Singh Chauhan

5 Likes

This sounds great :slight_smile:
You’re very welcome to make any presentation about GDevelop.

My last presentations were more focused on the technical side, see the list here: GDevelop events (game jams, conferences...) [GDevelop wiki]

Slides: Native Web Apps: React and WebAssembly to Rewrite Native Apps

But this is very focused on the technical side, feel free to make a talk about GDevelop itself.

A few ideas that come to my mind :

• Of course, the “visual programming” aspect:
    • Events as a good solution for quick “programming” while being accessible to beginners AND not a pain to use for experienced developers.
    • The fact that it is robust enough to make 99% of a game logic.
  • How are the main editors organised
  • The concept of behaviors
    • Including custom behaviors that can be shared? And written using events.
  • The JS game engine:
    • Pixi.js/WebGL for rendering
    • It’s an all JS game engine
    • WebAssembly as a future way to improve it.