[SOLVED] How to crop Sprites?

hi everyone, I’m an angel and I’m new to this world!
I have found a problem to which I have not found a solution.
I have trussed sprites, only the program sees them as if they were squares. even using the crop function, it does not eliminate all transparent pixels … how can I solve? thank you very much!

Hi!
It seems like you need to remove the square background using a photo editor, and Windows’ MS Paint cannot do so.
Piskel, the GDevelop 5 image editor, can do it - just use something called Magic Wand tool.

As an example:
Here is a sprite with white background.
Select the tool marked with red:

Then, click on the white area, it will turn blue.
Press Delete. The white background should be similiar-looking to the grey checker, meaning it’s transparent.
Repeat this for other frames of the sprite.

Finally, click Save at the top!

Hopefully that answers your question.

(This sprite taken from Dialogue Tree example. Credits to blurymind I guess?)

2 Likes

First of all thank you for the answer!
but, no, that’s not my problem. I created a camera, with a yellow range, only that the character even if it doesn’t touch that camera is eliminated, because the camera sprite is a square. attach photos to show the problem

I want to eliminate that useless space, as the character collides before touching the camera… and it’s not really a nice effect :smiley:

oh, i see now.Thank you for screenshot, it really helps
For this there are two methods:

• Create collision mask/hitbox (recommended)
    For this one, go to your camera sprite, click Edit Hitboxes in the bottom left (picture). Then, click “Use custom collision mask”
    Then, notice the red dot in top left. Zoom in (ctrl + mouse wheel), and start dragging them one by one to be the shape that you want, in your case you can drag the 4 points to be a triangle.
    In my example the result looks like this:
    Repeat it for other animation/frame as needed (maybe longer/shorter camera cone?).