How to make a vocabulary game in Gdeveop

Hi guys,
I am a language teacher and what I would want to do is an android game with which my students could practice custom English vocabulary.

The game would go like this:
-a random word (in students’ mother language) is picked and shown at the bottom of the screen
-clouds with random words are placed on the scene along with a cloud that contains the right word
-the player then has to fly (or move) through a cloud with the correct English equivalent word in it

The questions are:
How to quickly make a word list that would contain the English word as well as its translation into my language?
How to access this information and compare if the player flew through the cloud with the correct word in it?

Thanks for help!

One way could be using the YARN facilities in Gdevelop. Making two branches of dialogs, one for the words in English, the other for the other language words.

Using the YARN options you can choose a random line of said branches, lets say number 4, and check if the selected word is the same as the number 4 line of the other branch.

• Lion

• Horse

• Lemon

• Red

• León

• Caballo

• Limón

• Rojo

I think it could give you enough room to add a good amount of words, in both languages.

I was using it to have texts in different languages in a game. (I used 0 for Spanish, 1 for English)

A more standard way would be to build structures or arrays with the words stored and compare the value of the displayed word with the value of the word the player is in collision with.
Please read Variables [GDevelop wiki]

1 Like

So I’ve created this variable structure:

Each child variable should contain the English word and its translation into my language.
Now what I would want to do is to:

1. randomly choose a child variable (i.e. random word)
  2. display both the name (i.e. the translation) and the value (i.e. the English word) into two separate text objects