Hi, ashtray here

I just wanted to introduce myselfe to the community really quick.

I have been a hobbyist game developer for a few years now, mostly using java and sometimes javascript. I don’t have a lot of experience using engines like this, although I used unitly and godot for a bit.

I just found GD5 and really like the simplicity of it. I am looking forward to using it in the future!
The only problem I found is a lack of documentation. Most things are rather intuitive, so it is not that much of a problem. But if anyone has a general crash course I’d really like to read it.

1 Like

Welcome to the forums!

Have you had a look at the wiki?
http://wiki.compilgames.net/doku.php/gdevelop5/start

There are a few tutorials in there as well. I think most are under their own category, but there may be some scattered throughout the feature articles as well. You’ll find links to videos in there too. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes thanks I have seen this!
I don’t want to sound like an ass, but these are a bit more shallow than what I am looking for.
Still a good starting point that helped me understand the engine a bit, but there are just so many things that aren’t explained in these examples.
Maybe I am just bad at looking for stuff though. :smile:

1 Like

You’re good! Most of us are in agreement that the docs and tutorials need more work. :sweat_smile:

Is there anything specific that you want to know how to do? Even if you give us a kind of ‘bucket list’ of things that you think need to be explained in more detail - someone should be able to help from there and maybe that will also lead to doc improvements. Otherwise we may end up going over things that you already know and missing things that you really want to know.

Well there have been a few things but the forum already helped me figure a lot out.