Walk to run and run to walk

I guys,

i need help i want to make my character run when i press a key and when i release the key walk again.
Thanks

Hey,

Are you using the platformer extension or basic force to move your character ?

Yes, i need to know how to increase speed when i press left control for exemple and when i release the key button the character walk again.
Event , condition (press key button), action?

Personally i would use a variable for example “player.speed”, with init value for example 200. Then when the key is pressed, you give the variable value to the platform behavior speed parameter.

Finally, for the “running” purpose, you can imagine something like this :
“LShift” is pressed => player.speed = player.speed*2

Do you see what kind of event condition/action to do ?

In summary, you’ll have :
“left” or “right” key pressed => player will move at speed “200”
if “LShift” and (“left” or “right”) are pressed = > speed X2

Thanks for your help but i’m a noob.

I try this way,

New event
condition (Lshift key is pressed) / Action (Do = +200 to the maximum speed of the PlayerHitBox)
New event
(Lshift key is released) / Action (Do =200 to the maximum speed of the PlayerHitBox)

I don’t know if this is the correct way to do this but it Works.
But now i need to change the animation when i press the Lshift key.
Something like this…
condition (PlayerHitBox is moving) / action (Do =2 to the number of current animation of the player)

The way you used it is correct, in fact it’s correct until it works or not conflicting with something else.

Just add the action on animation changing in the same event (when LShift is pressed). And same thing when the key is released : add the animation change action.

I want to try your way

(“LShift” is pressed => player.speed = player.speed*2
In summary, you’ll have :
“left” or “right” key pressed => player will move at speed “200”
if “LShift” and (“left” or “right”) are pressed = > speed X2 )