Waiting for an animation to end

Hi,

I recently discovered GDevelop and its potential but I’m facing a issue:
I have a object which have some animations set to it.

When I click somewhere on the screen, a fire animation should play. If I stay clicked, the animation is repeated multiple times in a loop. But in order to keep the animation smooth, I need the animation to finish its loop before being switched back to the idle animation. So, theoretically, if I click the mouse for 1 frame, the animation should play all its 8 frames and go back to the idle position without hiccups…

But I don’t know how to do that. I tired to set up timers and a while loop but it doesn’t work, it makes the animation unable to play. I don’t really understand the logic of the event editor, I’m more used to actually script stuff (python 3) but I have no knowledge in JS, so…

The last thing I tried was this:

But it doesn’t work:
When I click once, the animation is played in a infinite loop. If I click a second time, it stops. If I click a third time, the animation starts but stops as soon as I stop to hold down the click, and jumps back to the idle animation…

Can you help me ?

I see much wrong stuff here. First why do you use a variable, you can directly use the animation expression to get the animation being played. I will mirror what I mean in python to make it easier for you to understand:
Using a variable here is like doing

if sprite.animation == 1:
    condition = True
else:
    condition = False
if condition:
    # rest of the code
    pass

Your entiere code looks also wrong. Look at this Python transcript:

# by default fire_annimation is false
timer = rambo_gedeon.get_timers()["fire_annimation_timer"]
if mouse.pressed():
    rambo_gedeon.set_anim(1)
    fire_annimation = True
if mouse.released() and scene.get_timers()["fire_annimation_timer"].running_since_at_least(0.3):
    timer.run()
    rambo_gedeon.set_anim(0)
    fire_annimation = False
if fire_annimation:
    timer.run()