[Solved] "Start New Project from template* - platformer

Hi all

I am an artist rather than a game creator but I am very interested in making some simple games which is how I found GDevelop.

I am using GDevelop5 0.0.0 79Beta
This is regarding the Start New Project from template - platformer

Complete beginner question but I want my player to die when on the floor and in contact with the enemy and to respawn at the beginning as well as being able to kill them (a la super mario)

At the moment the player dies on impact (any impact) and respawns
he can not however not kill the enemies

If I remove the “Delete on collision” then he can stomp and kill the enemy but will not die on contact…

Thanks for a great tool and for all the useful documentation

Help please
Krs

Hi and welcome,
You cannot make “is falling” a sub-condition of “is on floor”, it doesn’t make sense.
Make a line “is in collision” and make two sub-events of that line: one “is on floor” for dying, and another “is falling” for killing/scoring.
Also, your “for each” loop just adds 50 points for each Enemy present on the scene. I don’t think that’s what you want. Move the action to the “is falling” batch of actions.

1 Like

Welcome :grin:

To control player health, you might find it easiest (in the long run) to set it up as variables. That way you can define separate damage amounts per enemy and contact with the floor, as well as healing items.

To respawn at the beginning, you’ll need something like:

Condition: Variable health.current of player is ≤ 0

Note:

• This is an object variable, a global variable may be more suitable for your game if you want to keep the same health across all scenes. If you want the health to be different from scene to scene, you should use scene or object variables.

Action: Change the scene “name of current scene”

You can add other actions and use other variables too if you want to control whether the player starts with less health after respawn.