RPG Dialogue Help

Sorry, I’m a complete noob at creating games in general but I hope to get better in the future.

I’m making an RPG in GDevelop 5 but I’m not sure how to advance conversations. To move to the next dialogue, I set it so you have to press A, but I found that this skips all the way to the last dialogue box. I tried setting variables (Do + 1 to variable Conversation of Text) but it also has the same problem. I could use a timer but I’m not sure how to use that effectively.

I found a question similar to this (Help with Dialogue) but the answer has a link which leads me to a 404.

Could anyone help me with this? Sorry if the answer might seem obvious :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Try to add Trigger Once to the condition, so the event going to be triggered only once when the A key is pressed.

trigger-once

So I added Trigger Once to condition and it worked for conversations with only 2 text boxes, but for conversations with 3 text boxes it skips the text box in the middle.

Instead of
“This is dialogue #1” >> “This is dialogue #2” >> “This is dialogue #3
It gives
“This is dialogue #1” >> “This is dialogue #3

I am using a variable (Conversation) that adds + 1 to every consecutive text box so it goes in order

Could you show a screenshot of the events you use?

Sorry if it’s messy, I am not super familiar with the coding of GDevelop yet (Context: the text object DialogueText is already set to “This is dialogue #1” by default)

The problem is that, when you press the A key, the first event execute, increase the variable by 1 and then immediately after, the second event also execute because all condition is true for the first time and increase the variable by 1 again and immediately after execute the third event because the condition is true again, this is why it skip it.

What you need to do, instead of using the Trigger Once, in this case would be better to create a switch to avoid multiple events execute the same time and make sure only 1 execute at the time.