Need help with BackandForthMirroredMovement behavior

Hello everyone. I’m new to Gdevelop, and while making my first platform game, I tried using the BackandForthMirroredMovement behavior to create enemies’ back and forth movement (in stead of using the “collision with left/right object” like in the default tutorial). However, for some reasons, it does not seem to work. The object I try using this behavior on just stay put for some reasons.

Can someone help me figure out what I have done wrong? And is there a better way to create enemies’ movement? Thank you.
I would also love to learn more about the topic “enemies’ AI” for platform games. I would highly appreciate any suggestions about where to start. Thank you.

Hi,
I just tried it with the platformer example.
There’s a mistake in the instructions. You need to create two identical animations, one called TurnLeft and another called GoLeft.
You also need to make sure the object can move freely for the specified distance (in the object behavior properties) or the script gets stuck.

@4ian when mistakes are spotted in public behaviors, can anyone fix the mistakes and reupload the behaviors? :thinking:

We can submit new extensions and files, here

This is not an error :slight_smile: Check the Space shooter example.
This is because the sprite is flipped.

Yes as bouh mentioned you can submit a modified/fixed behavior here: GitHub - GDevelopApp/GDevelop-extensions: Repository of behaviors, actions, conditions and expressions to be used in GDevelop for creating games
Read “Submit your extension” section :slight_smile:

To export an extension, this page will be helpful: Share dialog and sharing options - GDevelop documentation

Thanks for the links!

The error is here:

I looked at the space shooter, I understand it better now :sweat_smile:
I’m not sure it’s a great behavior to make public though, it’s not really the universal/basic/easy-to-use solution people might expect.:thinking: