Multiple enemies patrol, but when close enough to player, they go after player. How?

I have 1 enemy that I was able to figure out how to get it to follow after the player when the player is close enough without going through walls in a top down game. How do I get the enemies to patrol or generally move up, down, left, and right in an area that has walls, and then switch to going after the player when the player is close enough? Then going back to patrolling if the player gets far enough away.

Sorry if it’s obvious. I’m still new to GD.

I tried rectangular movement, but it acted very odd and even broke through the walls.

Thanks for any help!

Are the enemies instances of the same object?

You can make a Variable called roamDir for every enemy and
If Variable roamDir of Enemy = 0 Then
Simulate Up Key
If Variable roamDIr of Enemy = 1 Then
Simulate Right Key

And same for other directions
Now
If Enemy is in collision with RoamUp Then
Change the variable roamDir = 0
If Enemy is in collision with RoamRight Then
Change the variable roamDir = 1

And same like this

Compare x and y of your player and the enemy with

They will not be instances. So I assume what ever solution works for one I can just redo for the others, correct?

They have to be instances. When you add an object to the scene, via editor or events, it becomes an instance [of that object].

If they are different objects, then I suggest you put then in an object group, and apply the events to the group name, rather than each individual object name.

Thanks Mixen.

Would the variables all be under “conditions”, and the simulate be under actions?

This is my first game, but I’m starting to understand bits of how all this works.

Does the roamDir make the movement look somewhat random? That would be perfect.
Also, will it automatically switch to following the player since it can already do that, or do I need to add a condition to get it to switch back and forth to following the player?