[Solved] Multi Language support to video games (desktop)

HI.
I’m not a coder/programmer or a game developer (this is my first attempt). but I play vedeo games almost 30 years, so I have my expectations.
and one more thing: I prefer PC to the gaming platform. I know (but may be I’m wrong) you here are using GDevelop to create mobile games mostly. may be I’m in a wrong place? :thinking: :grin:

doesn’t matter. so. I want my game has a multiple language support. two first (my native language Hungarian and of course English for international use), but I want easy expandability.
if anybody has a well-tried solution in GDevelop please share with me.
in other case please help realize “my” conception:

I want a global variable (for example call it GV_lang), where its value represent the selected language. “1” = Hungarian, “2” = English, ect… I think I need an 2 dimensional array object for this, but sadly I cant find in GDevelop yet. :cry: in this non-existent array every text object has a row (the Y Index) and the columns contains the same text in different languages (the X Index). after this, I only need to say all my text object wich line is theirs, and they will see from the global variable’s value wich column is the actual.

I did not tried this in GD but in case your target platform is PC I guess you could use the new File system events to load text from JSON.

What you could do for example is have a JSON that include the languages and the name of their files.

languages.json
{
“English”: “En_en.json”,
“Hungarian”: “Hu_hu.json”,
“French”: “Fr_fr.json”
}

And then have a settings file where you store the current language of the game.

settings.json
{
“Language”: “English”
}

Then, of couse you would have the actual language files contain the translations

En_en.json
{
“Settings”: “Settings”,
“Save”: “Save”
}

Hu_hu.json
{
“Settings”: “Beállítások”,
“Save”: “Mentés”
}

Fr_fr.json
{
“Settings”: “Réglages”,
“Save”: “Sauver”
}
…etc