I'm looking for a "mouse clicked "event...NOT "while mouse is down" event (or "key clicked"))

I’m a newbie. I’d like to move an object a certain distance when the mouse (or a key) is pressed. But I only want to trigger that motion ONCE, no matter how long the mouse or key stays down. I can get an instant event by using mouse or key UP, but I’d like to know if there’s a (simple) way to do an instant “key/mouse was pressed” event.

Also, in either case, the object jumps to its new position instantly. I’m having a hard time making something move smoothly, and not jumping. (I’m clearly having a hard time “getting” the motion system in GDevelop.)

Most languages I’ve used have events like MouseDown, MouseUp, KeyDown, KeyUp, MouseClick (mouse was pressed and released over the same object), etc., that only trigger once. So I’m wondering how my situation would normally be handled in GDevelop. Also, is there any plan to introduce the single-trigger events I listed?

Thanks!

2 Likes

Sadly I don’t think those events will get implemented anytime soon.
What you can do though is add this to all your key pressed event:
Trigger Once.
You’ll be using it quite a lot… and it will start to get messy…

Edit: for your second question, what do you mean by jumping? Do you want something to gradually accelerate like in Pathfinding/Platformer behaviour?
If you are setting X coordinates directly, consider using Forces instead, otherwise you can use “add to” instead of “set to” for them.

Hi,
Instead of using “pressed”, use “released”.

By jumping I mean that the object moves instantaneously from point A to point B; there’s no visible motion. Having it ease in and out would be nice, but for now I’d be happy to just find a simple way to have an object move from point A to point B over a set time and then stop. I will look into using “add to” as an approach.