How to make character go back and forth

hello,
i want to make a game that will simulate the player going back and forth. how can i make it so that a tap makes the player go in the opposite direction but if the player is already traveling in one direction he goes the other way? i’m very new to this program.

There will be a few ways to achieve this. I very highly recommend completing at least the Platformer Tutorial for Gdevelop 5, as it will cover all the basics you need to really get going with Gdevelop :slight_smile:

Even if you don’t want to make a platformer, most of the concepts will be transferable to other game types.

3 Likes

thank you, i finished it. :slight_smile:
i’m still not sure if i can set a condition that will see if the character is moving right, so it can move left, and vice versa :confused:

You could do this by making two player object variables

positionX
direction

--
if positionX < player.X() - set object variable(direction) to "right"
--
if positionX > player.X() - set object variable(direction) to "left"
--
no condition - set object variable(positionX) to  to player.X()
--

What this should do is take the player’s x position, and then on the next frame will compare that position to the player’s current position. If the variable is less than the player’s, it means the object is moving right, if it is larger, it means the object is moving left. (I think i got the left and right in the correct order)

Currently away from my gdevelop computer so I cannot test this, but I hope it helps.

1 Like

thank you for the help, sorry to inconvenience you if you’re away from your pc :slight_smile:
i’m just confused to how this works. what role does positionX play in this? what is its value? won’t i also have to add a force of a certain p/s?

Apologies, I thought you just needed to know the current direction.

Also, I forgot gdevelop had an online version, so I quickly whipped this up.

The player object will need three variables