How to get random text from .txt file to game text field?

I tried this option I found on GD forum, but I could not make it work…Maybe I do something wrong?

1 Like

Hi,
I would advise you to split your complex process into several simpler processes. That way you can learn how each of them works and fix your mistakes along the way.
1st - display a text stored in a variable
2nd - create several variables and pick one randomly to display it
3rd - load one string from a text file and display it.

When you succeed in doing all that, try again and see if you find your mistakes. :blush:

First of all this is not mine “complex” process…I found that on GD forum, but for my side it does not work. I would like to learn how that works if any documentation exist!..Concerning my mistakes, If I know where my mistakes are I would never place question on the forum!..I am absolute beginner with basic knowledge, and what now?

It looks like you misread my message, so feel free to read it again and follow the advice I wrote… or not. :man_shrugging:
The full documentation is here: GDevelop 5 [GDevelop wiki]

It is possible that I misunderstood you, that happens to me sometimes. I am sorry for that…
Thank you for documentation link, it is very useful. I found so many things there which I have to learn, but I did not find any documentation for option /read the text from the file/…Thank you anyway…
I will read your previous message again to try to understand what you meant by that…

Regards…

No problem. What I meant is that you should decompose your problem. It will help you solve it.

read/write is here: Storage action explained [GDevelop wiki]