How do I save a objects variable and read the value?

Hi… Im kinda new to Gdevelop, but I have watched and read up about how to get started and the basics.

I just want to know how to save and then load the players Score.
This “score” is a object variable.

I have read up about the Storage part of Gdevelop but it just wont work for me.
I know that Write a value only works for values and write a text only works for texts but I cant seem to get Gdevelop to save the player score and then load it. It returns the player name fine, but the score keeps being returned as 0.

This is the idea of how I want things to look.
When the player dies, it goes to a scene that asks for the player to type their name and press a “enter” button which then hides that layer and displays another layer that shows the player name along with their score.
Any help would be appreciated.

Hi, do you want the name and score to stay after the game is closed? That’s when you need to use Storage actions, but otherwise they should just be Global Variables.

You seem to be pretty close already, if your Name returns correctly, and assumedly Score also appears in gameplay. I think in your display event, you need to write something like

"Your name: " + GlobalVariableString(playerName) + " Your score : " GlobalVariableString(playerScore)

There could be other reasons, such as confusion between global and scene/object variables, so if your problem persists I’d appreciate a screenshot of your events of the score variable and how it’s displayed - use print screen or Windows’ Snipping Tool.

(Also, kudos for probably even reading the wiki!)

Hi…
Yes I want the Score and name to stay after the game is closed. The name returns correctly but the score returns “0”.

Here is the screenshot of the event:

I have tried everything from Write and read as value and write and read as text and so on…