Hello everybody, im new around here

Hi all who is reading! Im new to this. I found GDevelop through youtube, and it immediatly looked interesting. I have a dream for a long time to make videogames. I dont know how to code, I dont know hot to create sprites and most definitly I dont know how to engineer sounds :slight_smile: but still… dreams never die and i am motivated. Im wondering what are the limitations of GDevelop? I have a couple of ideas of games. All of them are turn based, with random map generators. Im asking somebody who has experience with this program. that is it feasable to make these kind of games?

One is a turn based racing game, where I would like the game to make random racing tracks, for hotseat gaming.

One is a menu driven survival game with a post apocalyptic vibe to it. For that I would like to use real world maps, like google maps kinda thing.

One is a dungeon crawler with randomized maze.

One is a SWAT based tactical game

All of the above games would use an rpg system aswell.

Anyway… Im willing to learn things if you guys/girls could point me to the right direction. Im happy to be part of the community, even if I am amateur as f.ck :smiley: Hopefully I will be able to make these games and make somebody around the world have a good time with them.

2 Likes

Welcome! If you are completely new to game development, Gdevelop is a great engine to start with. I’ve been using it for over a year myself, and wouldn’t use anything else. I’ve tried a tonne of engines over the years, but nothing compares to the sheer ease of use GDevelop has.

If you want to get elbow deep in the engine, in my opinion, the best place to start is the written tutorials in the Gdevelop wiki. This will go through all of the fundamentals you will need to make any 2D game. The platformer tutorial is usually a good starting point.