GDevelop Games on Handheld Devices?

retroid-pocket-2

Are there any handheld gaming devices like the Retroid Pocket 2 or the Anbernic 350 series (or any other similar device with physical buttons) that can run games made with GDevelop?

I know that the Retroid Pocket 2 has Android and GDevelop can export games for Android but I wanted to know if anyone has done this before. Is it even possible?

I’m new to making games and new to GDevelop so I’m not aware of any technical limitations that exist. I’m hoping the community can educate me.

I just thought it would be cool to make a game and then play it on a hardware device that wasn’t a tablet or smartphone.

Looking forward to hearing what the community thinks.

I don’t know the device, but Youtube shows Play Store on Retroid, so it runs standard Android apps, so GDevelop games should work.
Not sure if our gamepad extension will handle the physical buttons, though. Need to try. :man_shrugging:

1 Like

Hey, thanks for replying. I guess this will become a personal experiment for me as well.

Do you know if there are plans to make the gamepad extension compatible with hardware devices that have physical buttons?

The gamepad extension is meant to be used with physical gamepads.
But it’s been tested on popular gamepads, not this device.

1 Like

The gamepad extension is based on Gamepad API from browsers, if your browser is Chrome or Firefox, or just based on Chromium a support should be possible and working, maybe you have to edit the layout of buttons but it’s something doable by editing the gamepad extension directly in GDevelop.

Yes. As you are the first to ask support on this device and we haven’t this device i and we can’t provide a support for it. But we can try yo help you here if you have questions related to an error.

1 Like

I understand, Makes sense.

I actually don’t have the device in hand just yet. I’m planning on getting one within the next month or so.